Silence Can Mean More Than a Simple Yes

An advice to mothers and nannies…

When your child/charge is suddenly silent when, based on experience, they are usually noisy or busy making noise…be alarmed. BE VERY ALARMED. Because they are definitely up to no good. Tsk.

At one time, I was eating and I thought he was just watching TV. We were in the same room. Not a full minute has passed when I noticed he was suddenly silent. So I checked: HE WAS GONE. Not even in the next room. I went out, and found him chatting with the neighbor… HE WAS ALREADY INSIDE THEIR LIVING ROOM. Not a full minute!

At another time, I was busy typing some reports…we were in the same room. Suddenly he was silent. So I checked: HE WAS PAINTING HIS LIPS WITH MY LIPSTICK! Tsk.

And just now…I was busy with Facebook (yeah, this mom has time for that haha!) and he was busy with his crayons, chatting to himself. Then, he was suddenly silent. So I checked: HE WAS PULLING HIS SHIRTS FROM THE CABINET AND THEY WERE ALL OVER THE PLACE! I can’t believe he did that in silence. Tsk tsk.

So, mommies and nannies. Do not be deceived. Silence can mean more…so much more. So you better be very vigilant. Or you’re up to some surprise.

Leave a Reply

